top of page

Luscious Laksa

Updated: Apr 1, 2021


Hi everyone! Laksa is local dish that dish that's ubiquitous and enjoyed by almost all Singaporeans. Believed to have been a fusion of Peranakan and Malay cuisine, it is also an extremely popular Peranakan dish in Southern Asia. Comprising a spicy soup base with creamy coconut milk, a combination that particularly teases the local palate.


The dainty bowl of laksa arrived. It was almost like I could taste the belacan, the shrimp paste, the spicy tinge of chili padi even before I got anything into my mouth. That was all it took for me to devour this delicious meal to the last drop. I have also always had some kinda fatal attraction for lemon grass and the fragrance struck me immediately. I took my time savoring every shade of taste to the last drop. The rich flavours of the coconut milk and the spicy tinge of the chilli padi were fireworks in my mouth an absolute taste bud assault. To say this was scrumptious experience would be an understatement. My score? An 8/10. Do try this amazing meal with your friends and family and enjoy the burst of flavour unique to laksa!


Laksa has a cultural significance and historical relevance in Singapore. The Peranakans passed this expression of their identity down from one generation to the next and it then became of the cultural identity of Singaporeans. Being essentially an immigrant community here in Singapore local food and the variety of local food available is an indication of variety and then an identity icon. The ingredients in local fare and the range of local fare available is a nod to inclusivity and the legitimate diversity that's led to the fusion that's Singapore. Try it, and keep our culture rich.







51 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page